User Modes

Various modes can be set on users. Some of them can be set by the users, others are set by the network. You can list your current user modes with the /mode yourname command.

For those that can be set by users, /mode yourname +<mode> will work. For example to set the mode that subscribes you to announcements (also called wallops):

/mode yourname +w

Keep in mind that all user modes are per session, so you have to set them again every time you connect—most clients can automate this for you.

Available user modes

Mode (name) Description
g
caller-id

Ignores private messages from unknown users, instead informing you someone is attempting to message you. You can choose to receive messages with the /accept command. Messaging a user automatically accepts them. Messages from unidentified users will still be blocked by +R.

G
soft caller-id

Ignores private messages from users who you do not share channels with, instead informing you someone is attempting to message you. You can choose to receive messages with the /accept command. Messaging a user automatically accepts them. Messages from unidentified users will still be blocked by +R.

i
invisible

Hides you from global WHO and WHOIS by normal users, and shows only shared channels in /WHOIS output.

Q
disable forwarding

Prevents channel forwards from affecting you. If a channel’s modes prevent you from joining, you will receive the relevant error message regardless of any forwards.

R
block unidentified

Ignores private messages from users who are not identified with services.

u
unfiltered

Receive messages that are filtered server side by Libera.Chat based on content, usually spam. Set +u if you want to receive these messages. Also see the corresponding channel mode.

w
see wallops

Subscribes you to /wallops messages from Libera.Chat staff. Used infrequently to highlight interesting announcements from the FOSS community. You will receive important network announcements irrespective of this setting.

Z
connected securely using TLS

Set automatically by the network when you connect via SSL/TLS.

By default, user mode +Z (connected securely using TLS) is set only if you are using a secure connection, and it cannot be unset during the session. User mode +i (invisible) is also set by default, and can be unset. Other user modes can be set, but are disabled by default.


Based on content © 2016-2021 freenode/web7.0’s contributors under Creative Commons BY-NC-SA